Can’t We Do Better?

Since I am on break from my online agricultural communications course, I must have too much time on my hand because I have been watching quite a bit of television.  Too much obviously because I have become fascinated with a new (at least I think it’s new?) advertisement for a candle, but not just any candle.  No, it’s the “Mandle Candle”.  The first time I heard this ad, I thought I must be watching a Saturday Night Live segment making fun of a hokey advertisement – but I was not.  I was watching a real, live, current-day television commercial.  I wonder whether the makers of the “Mandle Candle” were hard-up for names for this product.  Did the name simply have to rhyme with ‘candle’?  If so, then the name easily could have been “Dandle Candle”, “Randle Candle”, or even “Handle Candle”.  Did the creators of this product simply think that all products would be successful if the name rhymed?  I mean, let’s look at all the examples where the word combinations work – ‘chick flick’, ‘green bean’, ‘cook book’.  In this day and age of technology, higher education and deeper levels of creativity, can’t we do better than this?  I think so.  Maybe I shouldn’t watch so much television.   One thing I know for sure – I won’t be buying a “Mandle Candle” as a result of this “bad ad”. 

 

product.jpg

Leave a comment

Filed under Business, Just for Fun

Leave a Reply

