“A New Earth” and some old questions

Okay folks- As promised, I checked out Oprah’s online book discussion on “A New Earth – Awakening to Your Life’s Purpose” and I wasn’t disappointed.  The author, Eckhart Tolle, joined Oprah and answered questions from viewers’ emails as well as through Skype connections.  Unfortunately, since I live in the sticks, I wasn’t able to connect during the ‘live’ discussion but I was able to download the video and view it the next day.    The discussion centered on the content of the first chapter entitled ‘The Flower of Human Consciousness’.  If you haven’t read the book yet, that’s okay – you may or may not be ready for it.  I am.  The book talks about human consciousness and how the bulk of the world is operating through the ego.  An awakening or an awareness of that fact needs to take place in order for change to take place.  It would be an understatement to say that I still have questions – boy do I!  But when I thought that I was looking for ‘more’, it may be that less is really the answer.   Many of the televised questions involved how to incorporate or reconcile the awakening of the consciousness with current religious doctrines.  The author explained that religion is really a set of beliefs of that particular religion and excludes other religious doctrines.  Basically translated, it’s my way or the highway.  This awakening is about the spirit – not religion.  My questions don’t involve religion – they involve incorporating this awakening experience into the world in which we live today.  How can one be awakened and trying to live outside the ego while at the same time trying to make a living in a career that is completely egoic?  Many careers are ego-centred.  Should one expect a complete overhaul of our retailing world?  I’m posting my questions to the message boards and will be tuning in next Monday (for the live discussion) or Tuesday (for the taped discussion) to discuss chapter two – ‘Ego – The Current State of Humanity’.  Check back for more next week.  Or better yet, sign up at www.oprah.com.    

Leave a comment

Filed under Education

Leave a Reply

