‘As the Egg Cracks’, starring Egg Farmers of Ontario

As I continue to follow the egg industry soap opera, better known as ‘As the Egg Cracks’, the Egg Farmers of Ontario (EFO) claimed in their earlier statement of defense that they did not threaten egg producers with the cancellation of their egg quota – at least in the letters that they received.  However, I was in attendance at a zone and an annual EFO meeting where the General Manager, Harry Pelissero stated that the EFO Board of Directors can do whatever they want with the quota – they can reduce it, increase it, cancel it – essentially whatever they want.  (Don’t believe me?  Well, check the minutes.  Oh, scratch that – there are no minutes to reflect this, is there Mr. Pelissero?)  The egg producer is paying a premium for the privilege of ‘using’ the quota, as long as the EFO deems the egg producer is worthy of the privilege.

As I felt that my ‘worthiness’ was running out and it came time for me to sell my quota, I was told by EFO to empty my barn prior to the EFO approving the quota sale.  Now think about that for a minute.  What would have happened if I emptied my barn and then EFO didn’t approve the sale?  They didn’t have to approve the sale but yet they directed me to empty my barn without any guarantee that they would approve the sale.  Now I know that I’m not the sharpest knife in the drawer but hello!  Who in their right mind would empty their barn prior to having the sale transaction approved?  Talk about being up a creek without a paddle!  Mr. Pelissero made it very clear with his threatening language that EFO could do whatever they wanted to do with my quota – whenever they wanted to do it.  As a result, I did not empty my barn until I had approval from EFO – in writing – that they would approve the transaction once the barn was empty.    Of course this story ends with EFO approving my quota sale.  Heck, they probably set off fireworks and popped the cork on some champagne to have a ‘disturber’ like me out of their industry!  Believe me, I’m not offended.  I’m hoping to set off some fireworks of my own as this saga continues.

Leave a comment

Filed under Agriculture, Business

Leave a Reply

